Law enforcement endorsements boost Judge McCallum’s campaign

Judge Jay McCallum qualified Wednesday, July 22, 2020, to run for the open Louisiana Supreme Court position, formerly held by retired Justice Marcus Clark. Judge McCallum received a big campaign kick-off boost with endorsements from law enforcement in 15 of the 20 parishes that comprise Supreme Court District 4. (See attached map)

Judge McCallum, who currently serves on the Second Circuit Court of Appeal, is a much sought-after Continuing Legal Education (CLE) instructor, motivational and inspirational speaker, as well as law enforcement educational instructor. He is best known for using humor to instruct, inspire, and motivate his audience, including commencement audiences of Louisiana Tech University and University of Louisiana at Monroe.

Judge McCallum is a Northeast Louisiana University (now ULM) graduate who received his Juris Doctor law degree from Louisiana State University Law Center.

Judge McCallum is the only candidate for Supreme Court who has experience as a Prosecutor, a State Representative, a District Court Judge, and a Court of Appeal Judge.

Judge McCallum has the most judicial experience with 18 years as a judge and the most legal experience with 35 years as an attorney.

For years, Judge Jay McCallum has enjoyed widespread support from the legal and the law enforcement communities. Judge McCallum has law enforcement endorsements from 15 of the 20 parishes that comprise the Supreme Court district, including the following:

Sheriff John Ballance, Bienville Parish
District Attorney John Belton, 3rd JD
Chief of Police Andre Benson, Junction City

Sheriff Clay Bennett, Caldwell Parish
Sheriff Andy Brown, Jackson Parish

Chief of Police Joe Bryan, Spearsville
Sheriff Sammie Byrd, Madison Parish
Sheriff Kevin Cobb, Franklin Parish
Chief of Police Bim Coulberston, Farmerville

Chief of Police Mark Dodd, Marion
District Attorney Penny Douciere, 5th JD  
District Attorney Brian Frazier, 37th JD
Sheriff Dusty Gates, Union Parish
Sheriff Gary Gilley, Richland Parish
Chief of Police Randal Hermes, Louisiana Tech

Chief of Police Eddie Horton, Bernice
Ret. Sheriff Wayne Houck, Lincoln Parish
Sheriff Rickey Jones, Tensas Parish
Sheriff Cranford Jordan, Winn Parish
Ret. District Attorney Mack Lancaster, 5th JD
Sheriff Scott Mathews, West Carroll Parish
Ret. Sheriff Steve May, Caldwell Parish

Chief of Police Van McDaniel, Homer
District Attorney Chris Nevils, Winn Parish
District Attorney Danny Newell, 2nd JD
Sheriff Jason Parker, Webster Parish
District Attorney Jimbo Paxton, 6th JD
Ret. Sheriff Jerry Philley, West Carroll Parish
Sheriff Jay Russell, Ouachita Parish
Chief of Police Lewis B. Russell, Oak Grove
Ret. Sheriff Gary Sexton, Webster Parish
Ret. Sheriff Mike Stone, Lincoln Parish
District Attorney Steve Tew, 4th JD
Sheriff Mike Tubbs, Morehouse Parish
Ret. Sheriff Ken Volentine, Claiborne Parish
Sheriff Stephen Williams, Lincoln Parish
Sheriff Wydette Williams, East Carroll Parish

Judge McCallum and his wife Deanna Dunham McCallum, a Franklin Parish native, have two children. Their daughter Sarah Katherine, a sophomore at LSU, was Miss Louisiana’s Outstanding Teen 2016. Their son John, a Harvard graduate, and his wife Brooke live in Seattle, Washington and are expecting their first child in September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *