Atkins, Mozee named to Class AA All-State First Team in Football

Devontae Mozee left a legacy that will be remembed at Jonesboro-Hodge High School for years to come. Xavier Atkins is just beginning to write his. Both were instrumental in capping off one of the better football seasons in JHHS history. Both were rewared by being selected to Class 2A, All-State First Team by the 2020-21 Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Neither choice was really a surprise although the fact that Atkins didn’t win the Defensive Player of the Year Award was. Atkins led the nation in solo stops, led the state in tackles, solo stops and tackles for a loss and won numerous weekly awards as Player of the Week by media outlets. Mozee intercepted six passes this year and returned four for touchdowns, including a game changing 99 yard jaunt against North Caddo that gave the Tigers a share of the District 1-2A championship. 

Defensive End, Javeon Andrews and Quarterback, Tydre Malone received honorable mention designation. After leading JHHS to an 11-4 record and a Class 2A state semifinal berth, head coach Terrance Blankenship was given special consideration as a coach. 

State champion Many High swept the individual Player of the Year awards with London Williams being Offensive MVP and Tackett Curtiss winning Defensive MVP. Wayne Stein, who led St. Charles Catholic to the Division III state championship was named Coach of the Year. 



Pos Player School Ht. Wt. Cl

WR Omarion Miller North Caddo 6-2 196 Jr.

WR Antron Williams Red River 6-5 190 Sr.

TE Will Randle Newman 6-4 235 Jr.

OL Terry Augustine Avoyelles 6-8 400 Sr.

OL Jakorey Jones Many 6-3 260 Sr.

OL Fitzgerald West Lafayette Christian 6-2 325 Sr.

OL Ashanti Cole Red River 6-4 320 Sr.

OL Bo Bordelon Newman 6-6 280 Sr.

QB Zintayvious Smith Red River 5-11 175 Sr,

RB London Williams Many 5-10 173 Sr.

RB Grant Ducote Rosepine 5-10 205 Jr.

RB Kelvin Black North Caddo 5-10 205 Jr.

PK Carter Chauvin St. Charles 5-9 155 Sr.

ATH Ethan Frey Rosepine 6-5 225 Sr.


Pos Player School Ht. Wt. Cl

DL Jalen Smith Avoyelles 6-5 220 Sr.

DL Maxie Baudoin Ascension Episcopal 6-3 290 Sr.

DL Russell Davis Catholic-NI 6-2 205 Sr.

DL Moses Clark St. Charles 5-8 3 05 Sr.

LB Kaiden Jones St. Charles 6-0 215 Sr.

LB Xavier Atkins Jonesboro-Hodge 6-1 185 So.

LB David Cresson Episcopal 6-0 185 Sr.

LB Javae Gilmore Amite 6-5 190 Sr.

DB Tackett Curtis Many 6-2 215 Jr.

DB DeVontae Mozee Jonesboro-Hodge 6-1 175 Sr.

DB Jordan Allen Lafayette Christian 5-11 182 Sr.

DB Brylan Green Lafayette Christian 5-9 160 Sr.

P Liam Adamson Amite 5-5 165 Sr.

RS Earl Jackson Amite 5-11 185 Sr.



To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *