Prep Basketball All-District teams announced

Several local prep players from Jonesboro-Hodge, Quitman, Weston and Saline have been awarded with All District designations. 
See below for honorees from each district represented.

District 1-2A (Jonesboro-Hodge)

Justin Calahan and Ajay Tew has been named to 1-2A All-District First Team. The two backcourt members of the Class AA quarterfinalist Tigers received the second and third most votes behind district MVP, O’marrion Miller, of 1-2A champion, North Caddo. Leandre Gibson of North Caddo was named Coach of the Year.

The All-District selections were chosen by the coaches from the four district 1-2A schools based on a 10-point ranking system where 10 represents the top choice, 9 the second choice and so on. A coach is not allowed to vote for a player from his own team and statistics of players are from district contests only. 

In 1-2A play, Calahan averaged 16 points per game (ppg), 3.8 rebounds per game (rpg), 3.2 steals per game (spg) and 2.6 assists per game (apg). Tew averaged 10.8 ppg / 2.8 rpg / 4.3 apg / 1.7 spg.  Devontae Mozee (7.8 ppg/5.2 rpg/0.8 apg/2.0 spg) was named to the second team while Tydre Malone (10.6ppg/8.6rpg/4.0apg/3.0spg) earned Honorable Mention designation.

First Team 

Omarrion Miller – MVP North Caddo
Justin Calahan Jonesboro-Hodge
Ajay Tew Jonesboro-Hodge
John McIntosh D’arbonne Woods
Cooper Chase Lakeside
Jeremiah Martin North Caddo

Second Team 

Devontae Mozee Jonesboro-Hodge
Eli Musgrave Lakeside
Gage Davis D’arbonne Woods
Bailey Bridges North Caddo
Jacob Curry Lakeside

Honorable Mention 

Tydre Malone Jonesboro-Hodge
Gabe Roberson D’arbonne Woods
Austin Riser D’arbonne Woods
James Jackson North Caddo

District 2B (Quitman, Weston)

L. D. Manning of Quitman High and Davis Tolar from Weston has been named to the 2B All District first team.  Eli McBride of Weston and Blake Carter of Quitman made the second team with Seth Peterson of Weston and both Logan Ponder and Ty Simonelli of Quitman receiving Honorable Mention designation.

Jordan Crawford of District Champion Saline was named MVP with coaches Josh Brown of Simsboro and Ryan Smith of Choudrant sharing Coach of the Year honors. Additional first team honorees were Chris Williams and Lachian Thompson from Choudrant along with Nick Maryland and Chilaydrien Newton of Simsboro. 

First Team

Jordan Crawford – MVP Simsboro 15.5 7.6 4.6 3.0 1.0
L.D. Manning Quitman 10.5 4.4 2.0 1.1 0.2
Davis Tolar Weston 9.6
Nick Maryland Simsboro 16.0 5.3 2.0 2.5 0.8
Chilaydrien Newton Simsboro 17.7 6.6 4.5 2.3 1.0
Chris Williams Choudrant 20.0 5.0 2.7
Lachain Thompson Choudrant 12.0 6.3 2.2
PPG – points per game, RPG – rebounds per game, APG – assists per game, SPG – steals per game, BPG – blocks per game

Second Team

Blake Carter Quitman 5.6 5.8 0.7 1.3 1.7
Eli McBride Weston 6.5
Shamarian Brantley Simsboro 10.0 4.2 3.7 2.2 0.2
Trey Harris Choudrant 9.0 5.3
Lee Abney Simsboro 8.5 10.5 0.4 1.3 1.5

Honorable Mention

Seth Peterson Weston 6.5
Logan Ponder Quitman 9.0 3.0 3.7 2.9
Ty Simonelli Quitman 6.5 3.5 0.6 1.5 0.1
Parker Batterton Choudrant 6.7 3.0 2.2 2.2
Jackson Case Choudrant 8.2 3.5

District 1B

The entire starting five for Class B quarterfinalist Saline made either first or second team 1B All-District honors. Named to the first team was Ethan Roberts and Titus Jackson. Second team honorees were Titus Malone, Shawn Staggs and Steven Brown. All but Staggs are seniors.

Dodson saw Dylan Box make the first team with Zach Engram named to the second and Clay Statham earning Honorable Mention designation. Jamaria Clark of Doyline was the MVP of the district with Michael Normand of district champion Doyline earning Coach of the Year honors.

Georgia Robinson was the lone representative to the girls 1B All-District first team with Saline’s Alana Gray and Sadie Beauboeuf of Dodson earning second team designation. Skylar Hough and Alaya Gray received Honorable Mention recognition for Saline while Dodson had Molly Connor and Andrea Uribarri named. Jalexia Caldwell of Castor was chosen as MVP.

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *