School Board recognizes Students, Teachers and Bus Driver of the Year

A full agenda that covered everything from the recognition of outstanding students, teachers and a transportation specialist from this school year, to establishing the school calendar for the next was dealt with by the Jackson Parish School Board at their regularly scheduled monthly meeting that was held on Monday, March 14th. 

The meeting began with the elementary, middle school and high school students and teacher of the year along with the school bus driver of the year being introduced and honored by board members Calvin Waggoner, Gloria Davis, Dennis Clary, Rickey McBride, Gerry Mims, Mary Saulters and Wade McBride.

Students and Teachers of the Year

Elementary Student of the Year Elsie Flynn 5th Grade – Weston High
Junior High Student of the Year Jaidon Venzant 8th Grade – JHMS
High School Student of the Year Gabe McMillan 12th Grade – Weston High
Elementary Teacher of the Year Jordan Boston Quitman Elementary
Junior High Teacher of the Year Jennifer Colvin Weston Junior High
HIgh School Teacher of the Year Amiee Ferguson-Larche Jonesboro-Hodge High

School Bus Driver of the Year

Lynisha Amos Bush was also recognized as being the Jackson Parish School Bus Driver of the Year and a regional Property Casualty Alliance of Louisiana (PCAL) award winner. Now in its 17th year, the PCAL Bus Driver of the Year program recognizes drivers based upon multiple driver attributes including Leadership, Attitude, Perseverance, Student and Parent Relationships, and Technical Skill.

Jackson Parish Supervisor of Maintenance and Transportation, David Brown, believes her recognition is well deserved.  

“Lynisha is not only a great bus driver but a wonderful and caring person,” said Brown. “She is always willing to help others and always has a smile on her face.”

Lynisha Amos Bush – Bus Driver of the Year

2021 CLU’s for board members reviewed

Even the board members themselves received recognition as the Continued Learning Units (CLU’s) for 2021 were reviewed. Topping the seven member panel was Dennis Clary with 30 units. 

Board Member CLU’s earned
Dennis Clary 30
Gerry Mims 22
Calvin Waggoner 20
Mary Saulters 19
Wade McBride 19
Rickey McBride 16.50
Gloria Davis 11

2022-23 School Calendar Year adopted

New Teacher Orientation August 11, 2022
Professional Development August 12, 15-16, 2022
First Day for Students August 17, 2022
Labor Day Holiday September 5, 2022
End of First Grading Period October 13, 2022
Dismiss for Fall Break October 20, 2022
Parent Teacher Conferences October 20-21, 2022
Return from Fall Break October 26, 2022
Veteran’s Day November 11, 2022
Dismiss for Thanksgiving Holiday November 18, 2022
Return from Thanksgiving Holiday November 28, 2022
End of Second Grading Period December 20, 2022
Dismiss for Christmas Holiday December 20, 2022
Return from Christmas Holiday January 4, 2023      
Professional Development January 13, 2023
Dr. Martin Luther King Day January 16, 2023
Dismiss for President’s Day/Winter Break February 16, 2023
Return from President’s Day/Winter Break February 22, 2023
End of Third Grading Period March 7, 2023
Dismiss for Easter Break April 6, 2023
Return from Easter Break April 11, 2023
Seniors Last Day May 9, 2023
End of Final Grading Period May 22, 2023
Students Last Day May 22, 2023
Teacher Work Day May 23, 2023
NOTE: 392 Instructional minutes per day
Mandatory in-services for non-certified employees will include three (3) days as assigned by
Respective supervisors for the 2022-2023 school year.

Executive / Finance Committee Recommendations Approved 

Payment of the following: General Fund, Federal Program, Food Service, Sales Tax, Special Education, District Maintenance bills.

Payment to SHI in the amount of $17,937.11 for the renewal of Microsoft Office 365 Subscription License for 12 months, to be paid from General Fund.

Payment to La. Delta Community College in the amount of $11,125.00 for Spring 2022 Dual Enrollment tuition, to be paid from Supplemental Course Allocation.

Declare as surplus 1 Exmark Zero Turn Mower LZZ29KCE606 to be traded to 3B Outdoors.  Trade in allowance is $2,450.00.

Declare as surplus 3 milk coolers from the cafeterias to be auctioned or sold.

Grant Superintendent Claxton authorization to purchase Textbooks/Curriculum teaching resources and consumables for the 2022-2023 school year.  Not to exceed $350,000.00.

Rescind the motion made at the August, 2021 meeting to purchase 3 new Activ Panels from AXI Education for Special Education purposes, one (1) for Quitman High School – two (2) for Weston High School at a cost of $9,878.34, to be paid from IDEA funds.

Change the part time hourly Paraprofessional in the LEAP Connect classroom at Jonesboro Hodge Elementary School to a full time Paraprofessional due to an increased number of students in the classroom, to be paid from IDEA funds.  This will be a year to year position.

Approve and pay the following for 2021-2022 Summer Learning program to include: Accelerate Summer Learning, IDEA Preschool summer academy, IDEA summer academy, STEM camp and ESYP summer learning:  Teachers, Nurses and Therapists $30.00 an hour, Support Staff (Janitorial, Cafeteria, Paraprofessionals) $15.00 an hour and $70.00 per day for Bus Drivers, to be paid from ESSERS II, III and IIIEB, ESSERS Preschool 619 ARP, ESSERS IDEA 611 ARP, Title I, DSS and IDEA.

Accept low quote of $18,121.16 from Dell Inc. for 2 laptop computers and 14 desktop computers for teacher and student use at Weston High School, to be paid from Title I School Based funds.

Accept low quote of $24,229.50 from Dell Inc. for 25 desktop computers and 25 computer monitors for teacher and student use at Jonesboro Hodge Elementary School, to be paid from Title I School based funds.

Rescind motion made at January 10, 2022 meeting to approve payment to Presidio in the amount of $33,481.77 for Wi-Fi outdoor access at all schools, to be paid from ESSERS III.

Pay to Presidio in the amount of $46,967.77 for Wi-Fi outdoor access at all schools, to be paid from ESSERS III.

Building and Grounds Committee Recommendations Approved 

Accept low quote of $14,543.00 from Douglas Equipment Restaurant for 5 Mobile Heated Holding Proofing Cabinets, to be paid as follows: $5,817.20 from 2021 National School Lunch Equipment Assistance Grant and $8,725.80 from School Food Service. Each school will receive a cabinet.

Pay to Southern Roofing & Vinyl Siding, LLC in the amount of $13,900.00 for the change order to install new 12-inch fascial metal around edge of flat roof for Jonesboro Hodge High School Cafeteria, to be paid from ESSERS II.

Accept low quote of $15,000.00 from Mark Kennedy Plumbing to replace three (3) urinals at Weston High School, to be paid from Weston District funds.

Accept low quote of $17,247.00 from Wood Electronics, Inc. to replace intercom system at Weston High School, to be paid from Weston District funds.

Policy Committee Recommendation Approved

Revise the policy for JBA – Compulsory School Attendance Ages. 
The GBQ Policy on Retirement was tabled until the April 4, 2022 meeting

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *