Quitman’s Deal, Saline’s Roberts named to Class B All-State basketball team

A pair of standout local post players, Cali Deal of Quitman and Ethan Roberts from Saline were named to the Class B All-State basketball team, as voted by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association. (LSWA)

Only a Freshman, Deal burst onto the prep scene in such dominating fashion that by season’s end she was one of the premier girls post player in north Louisiana. Her late season achievements basically changed Quitman from a perimeter scoring team to a well-rounded district champion that won 24 games on the season.

What makes her designation even more impressive is that basketball isn’t even considered her best sport after the lanky lefty earned first team Class B All-State honors as a pitcher as an 8th grader last year.

Roberts, a burly 6’3” senior, earned second team honors after averaging 18 points a game and leading Saline to the Class B quarterfinals. According to Saline head coach Klint Robinson the award was well deserved.

“Ethan is very deserving of this recognition. It’s not often at our level that kids are developed enough to start as freshmen, but he was. He is the guy every opposing team prepared for and his best games were usually against the bigger & better teams,” reflected Robinson. “I am very proud to have been able to have a front row seat to watch him during his basketball career. He will be successful in life as well because of his character. Not only has he been a great performer on the court, he is a great guy off it.”

After leading Simsboro to their fourth, Class B title in five years, Jordan Crawford was named boys MVP with Rylee Cloud who paced Fairview to their third straight girls championship being the girls MVP. Class B state title. Kaci West of Oak Hill and Lacassine’s Micah Rasberry netted Coach of the Year honors.

Class B Boys First team

Jordan Crawford, Simsboro, 6-2, Sr., 16.0
Kenneth Montgomery, Zwolle, 6-0, Jr., 19.0
Dustin Welch, Anacoco, 6-3, So., 20.0
Nick Maryland, Simsboro, 6-3, Sr., 16.0
Aaron Garcia, Lacassine, 6-0, Jr., 20.0

Outstanding Player: Jordan Crawford, Simsboro
Coach of the Year: Micah Rasberry, Lacassine

Second team

Jamaria Clark, Doyline, 6-2, Jr., 31.0
Chilaydren Newton, Simsboro, 6-4, Jr., 18.0
Bret Jinks, Fairview, 5-8, Jr., 17.0
Chris Williams, Choudrant, 6-2, Sr., 20.0
Ethan Roberts, Saline, 6-3, Sr., 18.0

Honorable mention: Brylon Tyler, J.S. Clark; Jamaria Markray, Doyline; Jake Forbes, Holden; Steve Seamons, Forest; Gage Remedies, Florien; Tyren Thomas, Zwolle; Landon Strother, Fairview; Conner Ashford, Lacassine; Bennett Briggs, Christ Episcopal; Decorien Dixon, Country Day University Academy; Alex Kovall, Episcopal of Acadiana; Chase Taylor, Anacoco

Class B Girls First Team

Rylee Cloud, Fairview, 5-5, Sr., 24.0
Alexis Dyer, Oak Hill, 5-10, So., 17.0
Bailey Davis, Anacoco, 5-10, So., 14.0
Madison Suire, Hathaway, 5-4, So., 17.0
Reesie Jinks, Fairview, 5-5, Fr., 15.0

Outstanding Player: Rylee Cloud, Fairview
Coach of the Year: Kaci West, Oak Hill

Second team

Chloey Guidry, Hathaway, 5-4, Sr., 21.0
Latoya Holmes, Florien, 5-6, Jr., 10.0
Bella Smith, Fairview, 5-11, Jr., 14.0
Cambree Courtney, Holden, 5-9, Jr., 15.0
Natalie Yancey, Glenmora, 5-4, So., 15.0

Honorable mention: Jalexia Caldwell, Castor; Kylee Portilloz, Choudrant; Cali Deal, Quitman; Ikeia Brown, Simsboro; Lexi Parker, Family Community; Maggie Walker, Stanley; Olivia Sepulvado, Zwolle; Emma Tucker, Oak Hill; Gracie Miller, Midland; Sydnie Cooley, Lacassine; Kaiya Causey, Negreet; Paige Mayo, Anacoco

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *