Ponder, Peterson, Deal named Class B All-State Honorable Mention

The Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA) has announced the 2022-23 Class B All-State boys and girls basketball teams. Sophomore’s, Cali Deal of Quitman High School and Briley Peterson from Weston High, along with junior Logan Ponder from QHS earned Honorable Mention designation.  

Peterson, who averaged 14.5 points and 9 rebounds per game, led Weston to a 27-6 overall record and the district 1B championship. Deal averaged 16.2 points and 8.3 rebounds per game while pacing Quitman to a 21-9 record and second place finish in district play. Ponder led Quitman in scoring with a 13.5 per game average while contributing 4.8 rebounds, 2.2 assists and 2.0 steals. 

After averaging 12 points, 8 rebounds and 8 assists per game and leading Hathaway to the Class B girls “non-select” state championship, Madison Suire was named Outstanding Player. Jalen Brown had averages of 18 points, 4 rebounds, 6 assists and 3 steals for Class B boys “select” state champion Avoyelles Public Charter’ to earn the same honor. District 1B Boys MVP Jamaria Clark of Doyline was named to the first team.

Veteran Florien girls coach Dewain Strother concluded his legendary career by picking up the Class B Coach of the Year honors. He led his Florien squad to another appearance in the state semifinals and ends his 40-year stint with 1,235 wins, the most wins by a girls coach in Louisiana history and second all-time in the nation. Avoyelles Charter’s Antonio Benjamin was voted boys Coach of the Year. His resume included wins over teams in every LHSAA classification.

Class B Boys Basketball All State First Team

Player School Ht. Cl. Avg
Jalen Brown Avoyelles Charter 5-8 So. 18.0
Chase Taylor, Anacoco 6-1 Sr. 12.0
Kenneth Montgomery, Zwolle 6-1 Sr, 18.0
Kane Broussard, Lacassine 6-4 So. 20.0
Jamaria Clark, Doyline 6-2 Sr. 31.0

Second Team
Dustin Welch, Anacoco 6-4 Jr. 16.0
Aaron Garcia, Lacassine 6-0 Sr. 18.0
Zakelveon Gadison, Rapides 5-10 Jr. 24.0
Jake Forbes, Holden 6-4 Sr. 15.0
Armonii Benjamin, Avoyelles Charter 6-0 Fr. 15.0

COACH OF THE YEAR: Antonio Benjamin, Avoyelles Public Charter
OUTSTANDING PLAYER: Jalen Brown, Avoyelles Public Charter

HONORABLE MENTION: Hayden Doyle, Hicks; Jacob Maxie, Stanley; Jamarion Clark, Castor; Logan Ponder, Quitman; Tucker Johnson, Florien; Braeden Fordham, Pitkin; Kaelip Wright, Simsboro; Parker Batterton, Choudrant; Lawrence Pickney, J.S. Clark; Jacob Vilar, Episcopal of Acadiana.

Class B Boys Basketball All State First Team

Player School Ht. Cl. Avg
Madison Suire Hathaway 5-4 Jr. 12.0
Alexis Dyer Oak Hill 5-11 Jr. 16.0
Latoya Holmes Florien 5-7 Sr. 14.0
Lamiyah Sanchez Hathaway 5-7 Sr. 23.0
Reese Stephens Hicks 5-4 Jr. 15.0

Second Team
JaNasura Richardson, Florien 6-0 So. 12.0
Paige Mayo, Anacoco 6-0 Sr. 14.0
Gracie Miller, Midland 5-9 Jr. 17.0
Sydnie Cooley Lacassine 5-6 Sr. 16.0
Kacey Breithaupt Holden 5-3 Sr. 12.0

COACH OF THE YEAR: Dewain Strother, Florien
OUTSTANDING PLAYER: Madison Suire, Hathaway

HONORABLE MENTION: Cali Deal, Quitman; Bella Henry, Anacoco; Ikeia Brown, Simsboro; McKayla Price, Zwolle; Shyanne Phillips, Hicks; Briley Peterson, Weston; Payton Herpin, Bell City; Taylor Barnaba, J.S. Clark; Kensie Trisler, Harrisonburg; Kate Deshotel, Avoyelles Charter.

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *