Police Jury recognizes retiring Road Superintendent Jody Stuckey

The Jackson Parish Police Jury held their regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, August 15th where the proverbial “welcome mat” was put out to open things and another “rode off into the sunset” at meeting end.

The short session began with the panel of Lewis Chatham, Amy Magee, John McCarthy, Culpepper, Regina Rowe and Keith Burris agreeing to hire Sherrill Malone to be the Accounts Payable Clerk over eight other candidates for the position that became open through the resignation of Tami Collinsworth. Tarneshala “Niki” Cowans was absent. 

Jurors then quickly handled their normal monthly deeds of approving the agenda, purchase orders and payment of bills from July and hearing reports from Committee Chairperson and Department Managers. 

Paul Riley then presented his Engineers Report leading to the panel adopting the 2023 millage rates and approving Sandy Joynor to be appointed to the Tourism Board. 

This led to Jody Stuckey being recognized and honored by the jurors for his long and distinguished career in commemoration of his service as Road Department Supervisor’s for over two decades.

“For nearly 25 years you have served our parish well,” said JPPJ President Todd Culpepper while presenting Stuckey with a commemorative plaque. “Words can’t express how much we appreciate you.” 

Following adjournment of the meeting the Juror’s, family and friends stayed at in the Charles H. Garrett Community Center to share memories and enjoy the cake and refreshments that were given in Stuckey’s honor. 


To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *