Tew named Coach of the Year in district 1-2A

Jonesboro-Hodge head basketball coach Allen Tew has been named Coach of the Year as voted on by District 1-2A coaches. It is the second straight year that Tew has earned the honor after leading the Tigers to the district championship this year by virtue of winning a three team playoff after JHHS, North Caddo and Lakeside all finished the season with identical 4-2 district records.

JHHS senior and Texas A&M signee LaDamien Bradford was named first team All – District with seniors Jaylen Kendrick and Edward Kary along with sophomore Tydre Malone earning second team honors. Sophomore Justin Calahan earned Honorable Mention designation.

Reginald Martin of North Caddo was named MVP of district 1-2A. Other first team designees include Cortz Collin of North Caddo, Branthony Brown and Austin Sims of Lakeside and Austin Riser from D’Arbonne Woods. Lamar McKinsey and Orlando Roberson of Lakeside also were named to the second team.

First Team District 1-2A All-District
LaDamien Bradford – JHHS
Cortez Collin – North Caddo
Branthony Brown – Lakeside
Austin Sims – Lakeside
Austin Riser – D’Arbonne Woods

2nd Team All-District
Jaylen Kendrick – JHHS
Edward Kary – JHHS
Tydre Malone – JHHS
Lamar McKinsey – Lakeside
Orlando Roberson – Lakeside

Honorable Mention
Justin Calahan – JHHS
Alden Auger – D’Arbonne Wodds
Ondray Miles – Lakeside

MVP – Reginald Martin, North Caddo
Coach of the Year – Allen Tew, JHHS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *