QHS Athletic Banquet Award winners announced

Quitman High School enjoyed a banner year in athletic competition in 2020-21, especially in girls competition both teamwise and individually. Emma Carter was crowned as Class B state champion in track and field. Eighth grader Cali Deal was named to the LSWA All-State first team while Maddie Kaye Brymer earned Honorable mention after the girls softball team made it to the Class B state tournament.  The girls basketball team also fashioned one of the best regular season records in school history. On the boys side, district competition was incredibly strong as district 2B housed the state champion in basketball, baseball and track. Yet the Wolverines still managed to advance past the first round of the playoffs in both basketball and baseball where Luke Morgan was named Class B first team All State and Joshua Smith received Honorable Mention designation. 

Recently the Quitman athletic program held their year end Athletic Banquet celebrating the wonderful accomplishments of so many. See below for complete awards.

Girls Basketball
1. Emma Carter: Most Improved, Defensive Specialist
2. Summer Grillette: Defensive Specialist
3. Kaylee Ford: Wolverine Award
4. Cali Deal: Rebound Leader
5. Bethany Leach: Offensive Specialist- 13.0 ppg, 2pt FG% Leader, Overall FG% Leader
6. Brayli Stewart: Offensive Specialist- 12.0 ppg, 3pt FG% Leader, Most 3’s Made
7. Clara Womack: Team MVP, Offensive Specialist- 14.3 ppg, FT% Leader, Most FG’s

Boys Basketball
1. Blake Carter:  Defensive Player of the Year
2. John Pabaya: Three Point Percentage Leader
3. Cooper Williams:  Offensive Player of the Year
4. Ethan Everett:  Most Improved
5. Joshua Smith: Most Valuable Player
6. Ty Simonelli: Wolverine Award

1. All District: Logan Ponder, Ty Simonelli, Luke Morgan, Riley Duck, Joshua Smith
2. Offensive Player of the Year: Luke Morgan
3. Defensive Player of the Year: Ty Simonelli
4. Rookie of the Year: Logan Ponder & Ian Tilley
5. Outstanding Pitcher: Joshua Smith
6. Breakout Player: Kyler West
7. Wolverine Award – Warren King

1. Most Improved – Averie Williams
2. Most Outstanding Outfielder- Jayda Naron
3. Highest Batting Average- Cali Deal
4. Most RBI’S – Maddie Kaye Brymer
5. Most Slugging Percentage- Maggie Guyotte
6. Fewest Strikeouts, outstanding infielder award- Madeline Vail
7. Clutch Master and Outstanding Infielder award -Karley Huckaby
8. Lady Wolverine Utility award-Madison Chaplin
9. Outstanding Hustle Award-Skylar Hall

Cross Country:
1. Chance Chaplin- Rookie of the Year
2. Jake Patton- Best in Battle
3. John Pabaya- MVP
4. Kaden West- Wolverine Award
5. Cam Hollis- Most Improved
6. Lillian Crawford- Wolverine Award
7. Maddie Grace Giddens- Spirit Award

Power Lifting:
State Qualifiers: Lillian Crawford, LaJaesha Bailey
3rd Place State Powerlifting Meet: LaJaesha Bailey

Golf: (6th in Class B in team competition)
Eli Walker- 11th in State
State Qualifiers: Noah Leach, Joshua Smith, Pete Simonelli, Cam Deal, Eli Walker

Wolverine Award: Sebastian Guin
Boys MVP and State Qualifier- Trace Sanderson
Girls MVP- Emani Gomez

Girls Track and Field
1. Most Improved- Lillian Crawford
2. Outstanding Track- Faith Odom
3. Outstanding Field- Bethany Leach
4. Outstanding Performer- Clara Womack
5. Zach Harris Coaches’ Award- Grace Sharplin
6. State Champion High Jump- Emma Carter
7. State Runner-up Pole Vault- Clara Womack
8. State 3rd Place 300M Hurdles- Maddie Grace Giddens

Boys Track and Field:
|1. Most Improved- Jamall Johnson
2. Outstanding Track- Noah Vail
3. Outstanding Field- Bailey Keys
4. Outstanding Performer- Hunter Folks
5. Zach Harris Coaches’ Award- John Pabaya/James Pabaya (2 different awards)

Wolverine Award- Raven Martin
Rookie Award- Clara Womack & Kylee-Ann Dixon
Base of the Year- Layla Shumake
Backspot of the Year- Breanna Brown
Flyer of the Year- Harley Burns
Most Dependable- Anna Bougues
Leadership Award- Grace Robinson


To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.