Jackson Parish Sport Hall of Fame inducts Class of 2022

2022 Jackson Parish Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

The Jackson Parish Sport Hall of Fame (JPSHOF)inducted five new members and gave two more awards for Outstanding Achievement at the annual ceremony held on Saturday, October 1st at the Family Life Center of the First Baptist Church in Jonesboro. Also recognized were the male and female Athlete of the Year for 202- 22 from Jonesboro-Hodge High School, Quitman High School and Weston High School. 

Members of the JPSHOF Class of 2022 were Mark Hale and Ashley Butler McCoy from Weston High, Ted Reeves and Greg Harrell from Jonesboro-Hodge High and Derickal Saulsberry from the now defunct Chatham High School. Outstanding Achievement Award winners were former Jonesboro-Hodge High School coaches Carrell Dowies and Jimmie Davis. 

Being selected as Athlete of the Year were Xabrianna Jackson and Devontae Mozee from Jonesboro-Hodge High School, Davis Tolar and Mary Catherine Hay from Weston High School and Bethany Leach and Ty Simonelli from Quitman High School. 

The event began with Master of Ceremonies, Clay Carroll, welcoming those in attendance followed by Ricky Cash singing the natiional anthem. After a delicious dinner catered by Linda Peevy, current members of the JPSHOF in attendance were introduced.

Speeches by each inductee or representative of, then entertained the large crowd after which each Athlete of the Year was introduced. The entertaining evening concluded with recently deceased JPSHOF board member Bill Staples being honored. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *