Sports Hall of Fame Board mulls nominations for Class of 2023

The Jackson Parish Sports Hall of Fame (JPSHOF) Board held their regularly scheduled monthly meeting on Monday, March 27th at the Hall of Fame building located at the Jackson Parish Recreation Department Sports Complex. 

Highlighting the agenda was the consideration of 16 nominees for enshrinement as the Class of 2023 in the JPSHOF. In corresponding action it was decided to hold the annual Banquet, where new members will be presented, on October 7th. 

Board members Clay Carroll, Ricky Cash, Ben Ledbetter, Harrell Bond, Ted Reeves and Wilda Smith also elected to keep the officers the same as last year and to establish the fourth Monday of every month as the meeting date. Jo Ann Buckner, Jesse James Parks and Jason Spangler were absent. 

Nominations will continue through the next meeting in April before the final decision on who will be enshrined will take place in May. If you have someone you would like to see nominated contact a board member. Please keep in mind that requirements are that a person must be at least five years removed from active participation in sports and must have went to school or coached in Jackson Parish. 

2 thoughts on “Sports Hall of Fame Board mulls nominations for Class of 2023

  1. Please consider the 1994 Boys Track Team.
    Zem Anderson
    Marty Booker
    John Bradley
    Karnelius Palmer
    Darrius Paggett
    Rodney Gatlin
    Jamaal Beamon
    Mario Cooper
    Josh Traxler
    Cornelius Hassen
    This was a record setting squad in several events. If you are considering “Team” this would be great.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *